Elihu N. Root, MD Award for Excellence in Patient Care

Dr. Root photo.jpg

 For almost four decades, Dr. Elihu Root was a distinguished member of the Kelsey-Seybold Clinic and for many years served as Chief of the Hematology/Oncology Department.  His specialty was the treatment of breast and colorectal cancers, as well as the early detection of cancer.  Through the Kelsey Research Foundation, he acted as principal investigator on major clinical research studies and was a dedicated member of the Kelsey-Seybold Cancer Committee. 

Upon his death in 2007, his friends and family started a fund in his memory.   Dr. Mavis Kelsey, the founder of the Clinic and co-founder of the Kelsey Research Foundation wrote to his wife, Jane:  “Dr. Root was one of the finest doctors Kelsey-Seybold or St. Luke’s Hospital ever had.  His steadfastness of character and achievement stood out like the Rock of Gibraltar.”

The Elihu N. Root, MD Award for Excellence in Patient Care is awarded each year during Cancer Survivor’s Day event at the Kelsey-Seybold Clinic and recognizes two team members services department.

2019 Honorees: Dr. Snehal Desai and Ms. Rokenia Wells

William D. Seybold Distinguished Lectureship

Since 2005, the Kelsey Research Foundation has supported the William D. Seybold Distinguished series. William D. Seybold, MD was a highly-regarded general and thoracic surgeon who joined his friend Mavis Kelsey, M.D. to build the Kelsey-Seybold Clinic that today continues their names in the leadership of Houston medicine. In addition, Dr. Seybold was chief of staff at St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital and very active in the Baylor surgical teaching program.

Each year, the Foundation selects a leader in the field of surgery who demonstrates a strong commitment to excellent surgical care and research and who carries on the tradition of outstanding care established by Dr. Seybold. This lectureship includes rounds with Baylor residents and morning grand rounds lecture to the Baylor surgery department, St. Luke's staff and Kelsey-Seybold surgery staff.


J. Charles Dickson, MD

J. Charles Dickson Award is the oldest prize, which was established in 1988 by Dr. James Smith, succeeding Chief of Otolaryngology at Kelsey-Seybold Clinic, and Dr. George Ferry, Trustee and Managing Director of Kelsey Seybold Foundation. The award given annually in memory of Dr. Dickson, has been presented to a number of residents for the best research study undertaken in the Clinical and Basic Science categories for the Bobby R. Alford Department of Otorhinolaryngology and Communicative Sciences each year at Baylor College of Medicine. Today, the J. Charles Dickson Award continues to be a fitting tribute to the dedication and influence of an outstanding medical educator.

J. Charles Dickson was widely respected for his pioneering work in otolaryngology and was considered a foremost authority in his field. Dr. Dickson joined the Kelsey-Seybold Clinic in 1962 and served as the Chairman from 1968 to 1972. He also served as Chief of Otolaryngology until his retirement in 1980. Dr. Dickson taught medical students and residents at Baylor College of Medicine. He served as the President of Medical Staff in 1940 and again in 1953-1955 at the Methodist Hospital, where he was a staff member for 53 years. Dr. Dickson served as a consultant at St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital, Texas Children's Hospital and Germann Hospital. In addition to exhibiting a great love for teaching residents and medical students, Dr. Dickson also shared his time and leadership talents with young people, specifically the Boy Scouts of America with whom he was active for 45 years. 

James L. Smith, MD Award

James L. Smith Award is an annual award named for the late Dr. James Smith, who was the chairman of the Kelsey-Seybold ENT department for many years as well as a former chairman of the Board of Directors of the Clinic. This prize, established through generosity of Mrs. Mimi Dompier and the Bob and Vivian Smith Foundation, will be given to the senior ENT resident deemed most worthy by the Kelsey-Seybold clinical staff.

Dr. Smith received his bachelor's degree in 1949 and his master's degree in 1951, and his medical degree in 1955, all from University of Texas. He interned at Brooke Army Hospital before being assigned to Ellington Field. Beside his career at the clinic he has been very active in the Otolaryngology Department at Baylor as associate professor and senior attending at Methodist Hospital. He also served at St. Luke's, Texas Children's, MD Anderson and UTMB. He was president of the UTMB alumni and in 1995 was named an Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus.

Both J. Charles Dickson, MD Award and James L. Smith, MD Award are announced together by the Baylor College of Medicine Department of Otorhinolaryngology and Communicative Sciences.